Buying guide · updated Nov 6, 2026

Best cordless drill sets to give as a gift

A drill is the most-asked-for tool gift, and the easiest to get wrong. All six are kits with battery and charger included, so it works on Christmas morning. Every spec is from the maker's page, linked next to it.

Not tested by us. This guide is researched and written by an AI research assistant from each maker's own product page, read Nov 6, 2026 and linked next to every spec. We haven't used these drills, we don't give star ratings, and we don't list store prices or deals: they change by the hour in gift season. Tap through to check today's price.

Kit, not bare tool

Every pick is a kit: drill, battery and charger in one box. A listing that says 'tool only' or 'bare tool' has no battery and won't run out of the box. Battery platform matters too: a DEWALT battery doesn't fit a Milwaukee drill. If he already owns tools from one brand, stay on that brand. Black Friday is November 27, 2026 (About Amazon, read Nov 4, 2026). We don't quote prices: check today's price on each listing.

Quick picks

  1. The classic first drill: DEWALT 20V MAX Compact Drill/Driver Kit
  2. Compact 12V, two batteries: Bosch 12V Max Brushless 3/8 in Drill/Driver Kit
  3. Pro brand, pocket size: Milwaukee M12 Subcompact Brushless 3/8 in Drill/Driver Kit
  4. Brushless, more torque: Makita 18V LXT Brushless 1/2 in Driver-Drill Kit
  5. Drill and impact driver: DEWALT 20V MAX Drill + Impact Driver Combo Kit
  6. Budget pick for light jobs: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Cordless Drill/Driver Kit

How to choose

The picks

The classic first drill

1. DEWALT 20V MAX Compact Drill/Driver Kit DCD771C2

  • Battery platform: DEWALT 20V MAX
  • Power: 300 UWO (maker's figure)
  • Speed and chuck: 2 speeds: 0-450 and 1,500 rpm; 1/2 in chuck
  • Weight: Not stated on the page we read
  • In the box: Drill, two 20V MAX batteries, charger, bag

From the maker: “Featuring a high-performance motor and a 2-speed transmission, this drill delivers up to 300 UWO for a wide range of applications. For convenience this kit includes (2) 20V MAX* batteries, a charger, and a durable storage bag for portability.” (DEWALT product page, read Nov 4, 2026)

Who it's for: A first real drill for a new homeowner: two batteries means one can charge while he works.

Skip it if: He already owns a cordless drill, or he's on another battery brand.

See it on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab) Maker's page

Compact 12V, two batteries

2. Bosch 12V Max Brushless 3/8 in Drill/Driver Kit GSR12V-300B22

  • Battery platform: Bosch 12V Max
  • Power: 300 in.-lbs.; brushless; 20+1 clutch settings
  • Speed and chuck: 2 speeds: 0-460 / 0-1,750 rpm; 3/8 in keyless chuck
  • Weight: 1.6 lbs tool only (maker's figure, no battery)
  • In the box: Drill, two 2.0Ah batteries, charger, bit holder, 4 bits, belt clip, bag

From the maker: “The Bosch GSR12V-300 features an efficient EC Brushless motor that delivers 300 In.-Lbs. of torque, along with a max speed of 1,750 rpm. With a head length of 6.0 In. and a weight of 1.6 Lbs. (tool only, not including battery)” (Bosch product page, read Nov 6, 2026)

Who it's for: Someone who wants a small, light drill for cabinets, furniture and around-the-house jobs, with a spare battery.

Skip it if: He's already on a 20V or 18V platform from another brand: Bosch 12V batteries won't fit those tools.

See it on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab) Maker's page

Pro brand, pocket size

3. Milwaukee M12 Subcompact Brushless 3/8 in Drill/Driver Kit 3401-22

  • Battery platform: Milwaukee M12
  • Power: 350 in-lbs.; brushless; 12 clutch settings
  • Speed and chuck: 2 speeds: 0-450 / 0-1,550 rpm; 3/8 in all-metal chuck
  • Weight: Under 2 lbs with battery; 5.4 in long
  • In the box: Drill, two M12 REDLITHIUM CP 2.0 batteries, charger, contractor bag

From the maker: “The compact drill is only 5.4" in length and under 2 pounds with a battery, allowing for minimal fatigue and excellent control, especially while working overhead or in tight spaces. The brushless motor delivers optimal tool performance at 350 in-lbs. of torque and up to 1,550 RPM” (Milwaukee product page, read Nov 6, 2026)

Who it's for: The handy guy who wants a pro-brand drill that fits in a drawer, or anyone starting on the large M12 tool family.

Skip it if: You'd rather buy from the brand or the store itself: when we checked, this listing was sold by a third-party seller. Also skip it if he's on another battery brand.

See it on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab) Maker's page

Brushless, more torque

4. Makita 18V LXT Brushless 1/2 in Driver-Drill Kit XFD131

  • Battery platform: Makita 18V LXT
  • Power: 440 in.lbs. max torque; brushless motor
  • Speed and chuck: 2 speeds: 0-500 and 0-1,900 rpm; 1/2 in chuck
  • Weight: 3.8 lbs with battery (spec table)
  • In the box: Drill, one 3.0Ah battery, charger, tool bag

From the maker: “POWER : Makita-built brushless motor delivers 440 in.lbs. of Max Torque” (Makita product page, read Nov 6, 2026)

Who it's for: Someone who'll drill into studs and drive bigger screws: the most torque the maker lists of the drill-only kits here.

Skip it if: He wants two batteries in the box (this kit has one), or he's already on another battery brand.

See it on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab) Maker's page

Drill and impact driver

5. DEWALT 20V MAX Drill + Impact Driver Combo Kit DCK240C2

  • Battery platform: DEWALT 20V MAX
  • Power: Drill: 300 UWO; impact torque not stated on the page we read
  • Speed and chuck: Drill: 0-450 / 0-1,500 rpm; 1/2 in chuck. Impact: 1/4 in hex
  • Weight: Impact driver 2.8 lbs
  • In the box: DCD771 drill, DCF885 impact driver, two 1.3Ah batteries, charger, bag

From the maker: “Designed lightweight for a wide range of applications, this kit features the compact 20V MAX* 1/2-in Drill/Driver and the 20V MAX* 1/4-in Impact Driver. This kit also includes (2) 20V MAX* 1.3Ah batteries, a charger, and a durable storage bag” (DEWALT product page, read Nov 6, 2026)

Who it's for: Someone who builds decks, fences or furniture: the impact driver sinks long screws while the drill does the holes.

Skip it if: He only hangs pictures and assembles furniture: a single drill is enough. The 1.3Ah batteries are small, so expect more charging on big jobs.

See it on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab) Maker's page

Budget pick for light jobs

6. BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Cordless Drill/Driver Kit BDCDD120C

  • Battery platform: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX
  • Power: Brushed motor; torque not stated on the page; 11-position clutch
  • Speed and chuck: Up to 650 rpm; 3/8 in keyless chuck
  • Weight: 2.5 lbs (feature text; spec table lists 3.2 lb)
  • In the box: Drill, one 1.5Ah battery, charger, double-ended bit

From the maker: “The compact design, 35% smaller than the GC1801 Drill/Driver, allows you to fit in tighter spaces (behind appliances, inside cabinets, inside closets, etc.). Lightweight at 2.5 lbs provides less fatigue and makes it easy to move from room to room.” (BLACK+DECKER product page, read Nov 6, 2026)

Who it's for: A first drill for a dorm, apartment or light household jobs: furniture, curtain rods, picture hooks.

Skip it if: He'll drill into studs, masonry or decks: the single-speed 650 rpm motor is for light work. Step up to one of the kits below.

See it on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab) Maker's page

Side by side

Maker-listed specs. Where a maker doesn't publish a number, we say so.

ModelBattery platformPowerSpeed and chuckWeightIn the boxLink
DEWALT 20V MAX Compact Drill/Driver Kit
DCD771C2
DEWALT 20V MAX300 UWO (maker's figure)2 speeds: 0-450 and 1,500 rpm; 1/2 in chuckNot stated on the page we readDrill, two 20V MAX batteries, charger, bagAmazon (opens Amazon in a new tab)
Bosch 12V Max Brushless 3/8 in Drill/Driver Kit
GSR12V-300B22
Bosch 12V Max300 in.-lbs.; brushless; 20+1 clutch settings2 speeds: 0-460 / 0-1,750 rpm; 3/8 in keyless chuck1.6 lbs tool only (maker's figure, no battery)Drill, two 2.0Ah batteries, charger, bit holder, 4 bits, belt clip, bagAmazon (opens Amazon in a new tab)
Milwaukee M12 Subcompact Brushless 3/8 in Drill/Driver Kit
3401-22
Milwaukee M12350 in-lbs.; brushless; 12 clutch settings2 speeds: 0-450 / 0-1,550 rpm; 3/8 in all-metal chuckUnder 2 lbs with battery; 5.4 in longDrill, two M12 REDLITHIUM CP 2.0 batteries, charger, contractor bagAmazon (opens Amazon in a new tab)
Makita 18V LXT Brushless 1/2 in Driver-Drill Kit
XFD131
Makita 18V LXT440 in.lbs. max torque; brushless motor2 speeds: 0-500 and 0-1,900 rpm; 1/2 in chuck3.8 lbs with battery (spec table)Drill, one 3.0Ah battery, charger, tool bagAmazon (opens Amazon in a new tab)
DEWALT 20V MAX Drill + Impact Driver Combo Kit
DCK240C2
DEWALT 20V MAXDrill: 300 UWO; impact torque not stated on the page we readDrill: 0-450 / 0-1,500 rpm; 1/2 in chuck. Impact: 1/4 in hexImpact driver 2.8 lbsDCD771 drill, DCF885 impact driver, two 1.3Ah batteries, charger, bagAmazon (opens Amazon in a new tab)
BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Cordless Drill/Driver Kit
BDCDD120C
BLACK+DECKER 20V MAXBrushed motor; torque not stated on the page; 11-position clutchUp to 650 rpm; 3/8 in keyless chuck2.5 lbs (feature text; spec table lists 3.2 lb)Drill, one 1.5Ah battery, charger, double-ended bitAmazon (opens Amazon in a new tab)

Not sure he wants a drill?

See gifts for men who have everything or the smaller stocking stuffers for men who fix things. For somewhere to keep it all: garage organization and tool storage.

FAQ

What is a good cordless drill to give as a gift?

A kit with the battery and charger in the box. For light jobs a compact 12V kit; for drilling studs and driving big screws a 20V MAX or 18V kit; for deck and furniture builders a drill plus impact driver combo. Six kits are compared here by the maker's specs.

What does 'bare tool' or 'tool only' mean?

The listing has no battery or charger. It only works for someone who already owns batteries from that brand. Every pick in this guide is a full kit.

12V or 20V: which is better for a homeowner?

12V drills are smaller and lighter and handle furniture, shelves and light repairs. 20V MAX and 18V drills have more torque for bigger holes and screws. DEWALT's own page notes that 20V MAX is the maximum initial battery voltage and 18V is nominal, so 20V MAX and 18V tools are the same class.

Can I use one brand's battery in another brand's drill?

No. Batteries only fit their own brand's platform. If he already owns tools from one brand, stay on it.

Did you test these drills?

No. This guide is researched by an AI research assistant from each maker's product page, read Nov 6, 2026. No star ratings, no hands-on claims.

Our picks

The top pick from our other guides. Each link opens that guide.

More buying guides

Sources

Model numbers on each Amazon listing were matched to the maker's model on Nov 6, 2026. Listings and stock change; if a link lands on the wrong item, tell us at toolshedreport@mail.tab.bot.